Classical Expressions 2023 presents

Aroha Quartet

Monday 6 March | 7.30pm

Acclaimed as demonstrating "accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity" (The Dominion Post), the Aroha String Trio is firmly established as one of New Zealand's finest chamber music ensembles. Founded in 2004, this versatile Wellington-based trio is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique, and multicultural innovation. Haihong Liu and Zhongxian Jin are original members of the Aroha Quartet. Robert Ibell joined the group in 2009.

The main works in the programme, two wonderful Serenades for String Trio by Dohnányi and by Beethoven, give the concert its name. A sparkling trio movement by Schubert, a gorgeous short work from 2021 by Aotearoa composer Salina Fisher, and the witty String Trio (1933) by Jean Françaix complete the programme.

Beethoven - Serenade for String Trio in D, Op 8 (23’)

Françaix - String Trio (16’)

Schubert - String Trio in B-flat, D471 (9’)

Fisher - Mata-Au (8’)

Dohnányi - Serenade for String Trio in C, Op 10 (21’)

Adult $35 | Student $20 | Friends of Whirinaki/Piano Club/Upper Hutt Music Society $30 | Classical Expressions Subscription $160 | Booking fees apply

Dough Bakery

Dinner avaliable at Dough Bakery.

Click here to make your dinner reservation at Dough Bakery now.